Anniversary of Mahsa Amini’s Death: US Imposes Sanctions on 3 Iranian Media Outlets and 13 Officials

On the eve of the anniversary of Mahsa Amini’s death, the US Department of the Treasury announced new sanctions on Friday (September 15) against 29 individuals and official entities of the Islamic Republic of Iran in connection with the violent suppression of nationwide protests in the country.

According to a report published on the US Department of the Treasury’s website, the sanctioned individuals include key members of the security forces, the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC), the police force, and the head of Iran’s prison organization, as well as three individuals and one company.

In addition, Iranian media outlets, including Fars News Agency, Tasnim, and Press TV, are also included in these new sanctions.

Quoting Brian Nelson, the Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Terrorism and Financial Intelligence, the report states, “The United States, along with the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, and other international allies and partners, will continue to take collective actions against those who suppress human rights through violence, mass detention, and systematic disruption of the internet.”

Simultaneously, the US Department of State has announced restrictions on the travel of 13 Iranian officials due to their involvement in detentions and obstruction of their rights to freedom of expression or assembly.

However, since the death of Mahsa Amini and the subsequent protests, the US Department of State has imposed visa restrictions on 40 Iranian officials for their involvement in actions targeting peaceful protesters.

Related Articles

Back to top button